Military to Allow Calculators in Entrance Exam

As a vet I find this mind boggling. Seems to me to just be another step in reducing the capability of our military. Just confirms my negative opinion of SECDEF Lloyd Austin, former member of the Auburn BOT.

Military considers allowing calculators on entrance exam amid continued recruiting struggles: report | Fox News

34 minutes ago, Son of A Tiger said:

As a vet I find this mind boggling. Seems to me to just be another step in reducing the capability of our military. Just confirms my negative opinion of SECDEF Lloyd Austin, former member of the Auburn BOT.

Military considers allowing calculators on entrance exam amid continued recruiting struggles: report | Fox News

Why is it mind boggling?

Could you explain how it reduces the capability of our military? 

Could you explain why mental math acuity is a perquisite to having a capable military?

• Like 1

24 minutes ago, Didba said:

Could you explain why mental math acuity is a perquisite to having a capable military?

Are you serious?

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, I_M4_AU said:

Are you serious?

I know a plethora of reasons, I want to hear his reasons and opinions. 

When I ask an open ended question like that it’s not because I don’t know the answers. It’s just a way to get people talking/discussing instead of throwing insults. 

Edited by Didba

10 minutes ago, I_M4_AU said:

Are you serious?

But to answer your question, yes I want him to explain. But also, no, I don’t really need an explanation. 

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Didba said:

Why is it mind boggling?